There are three disciplines in cycling: 
Track Cycling: 
> A cycling track is a 250m wooden oval 
> Events include: Tandem, Tandem Sprint, 10mile Scratch Race, 1000m Match Sprint, 1km Time Trial, Individual Persuit (Men 4000m, Women 3000m), Team Persuit (4000m), Points Race, Scratch Race, Sprint and the Kierin 
> first included in the 1934 Empire Games and has been included ever since 
Road Cycling: 
> Involves two races: a time trial and a road race 
> First included in the 1934 Empire Games and has been included ever since 
Mountain Bike: 
> Competed in by men and women 
> First appeared in the 2002 Games 
> NI first competed in track cycling in the 1934 London Commonwealth Games 
> NI won their first track cycling medal at the Auckland 1990 Games where they won a bronze in the points race (Alastair Irvine) 
> In the Delhi 2010 Games, Wendy Houvenaghel brought home a silver medal in the 300m Individual Pursuit for NI, while the men brought home bronze in the 4000m team pursuit 
> NI first represented in road cycling in the Cardiff 1958 Games 
> NI won their first road cycling medal in the Edinburgh 1986 Games where they won bronze in the team time trial 
> NI first competed in mountain bike cycling at the Melbourne 2006 Games 


Phone: 07594272132 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings